Ancient Theodosius Greek settlers founded in the VI century. BC e. For several centuries, the policy, inhabited by fishermen, traders, artisans, was part of the Bosporus kingdom, while in the IV century. was not destroyed by the hordes of the Huns. The revival of the city under the name Kafa began in the era of the early Middle Ages, when the Genoese, who built a powerful fortress here, bought the lands in the vicinity of the picturesque Black Sea Gulf. The population of Kafa was growing by the XV century. it began to exceed the size of Constantinople. After three hundred years in the Ottoman Empire, the policy became part of Russia in 1783, and 11 years later it was returned to its historical name. During the Second World War, the city survived the 15-month occupation, but quickly recovered. In the following years, many enterprises appeared here, after the reconstruction the port reached a new level. Feodosia today is not only a large industrial and logistics cluster, but also a popular resort, as well as a city that is unofficially considered the resort capital of Crimea.
Tower of St. Constantine
- Address: st. Gorky. Stop transport "Center" or "Children's Clinic."
A stylized image of the main business card of the city - the tower bearing the name of the Byzantine emperor Constantine, numbered among the saints, can be seen on the coat of arms of Theodosius. It was erected in 1338, however, after several years, it was rebuilt. A characteristic feature of the fortification is the lack of a rear wall, so that in section it looks like an unfinished rectangle. The high tower, made of blocks of limestone, looks very impressive. The thickness of the masonry walls reaches 2 meters. The defensive structure, crowned with powerful stone battlements, is decorated with three belts of arcature, has mounted and classic loopholes.
- Address: Aivazovsky Avenue, 33. Bus stop “Pushkin Street”.
An elegant palace in the antique style, built in 1911 by Turkish architects for the prosperous merchant I.S. Crimea, with good reason, is considered one of the business cards of Feodosia. The magnificent building embodied the best features of Greek and Romanesque architecture. It admires the proportionality of proportions, the elegance of forms. The mansion got its name from the rotunda with the statue of Venus of Milos, to which the carved parapets of the fence converge. A portico supported by caryatids leads into the courtyard with marble fountains. Today, the mansion houses one of the buildings of the sanatorium "Sunrise".
- Address: Cape Ilya. Nearest bus stop "City Hospital".
The history of the building, which has become one of the visiting cards of Feodosia, is very interesting. It was erected at the very end of the XIX century. with funds donated by the wife of the state adviser E. Rukavishnikova, whose son was cured of a serious illness here. 10 years later, instead of a dilapidated wooden lighthouse, a stone building was erected, heavily damaged by shelling and bombing during the siege of the city by the Nazis and rebuilt shortly after the liberation of Theodosius. The 15-meter white-stone building, towering on Cape Ilya, still performs its functionality. From the observation deck at the Lighthouse, magnificent views of the Feodosiya Bay open.
- Address: st. Port Bus stop "Bridge".
Every tourist visiting the beautiful Feodosia considers it a duty to inspect the ruins of an ancient fortress. It was during the period of Genoese colonization that Kafa reached its peak. An impressive trading policy, known for its slave market, populated by wealthy merchants and prosperous artisans, needed reliable protection. For these purposes, a powerful citadel was erected with 11-meter walls, the total length of which was more than 5 km. A deep moat was dug in front of the fortress. She was protected by 30 towers. The construction of the limestone fortification system, which lasted 3 years, was completed in 1343. Until now, a part of the south wall with two towers, as well as several separate structures, have been pretty well preserved.
- Address: 47 Aivazovsky Avenue. Transport stop “Listovnichey Street”.
A delightful mansion, reminiscent of the palace of the Eastern Sultan rather than a summer residence, was erected in 1914 for the family of flourishing tobacco manufacturers Stomboli. An elegant asymmetric building in an exquisite Moorish style cannot but admire the originality of architecture and the brilliance of the finish. An important element of the exterior decoration are slender minarets, combined with elegant domes. The ensemble is complemented by air galleries, balconies with lush balustrades, luxurious stone stairs, marble fountains. The courtyard of the mansion is surrounded by flowers, and inside the house there is a winter garden. The interiors of the palace are fascinating with stunning paintings. Today, the hotel complex is located within the walls of the building.
Monument to I. Aivazovsky
- Address: st. Gallery, 2. Stop transport "Gallery".
The most famous native of Feodosia, without a doubt, is considered the great Russian artist Ivan Aivazovsky. In honor of the painter, the avenue is named here, his name is the art gallery. It was in front of her in 1930 that a monument was erected to the author of many stunning marinas. The sculptor depicted Ivan Konstantinovich at the time of painting. The look of the artist, holding a palette and a brush in his hands, is directed towards the sea and filled with inspiration. The brush, by the way, was repeatedly stolen by rarity hunters.
- Address: Aivazovsky Ave., 37. Bus stop “Pushkin Street”.
Another architectural highlight of Theodosius is a delightful mansion, erected in 1914 for the family of a state councilor and successful lawyer T.A. Abramova, in which now the sanatorium "Volna" has settled. In the exterior of the building, solemn classicism and a romantic Moorish style intertwined, clearly visible in the galleries of balconies and the first tier. The facade is decorated with tall Venetian windows. The attics above the cornice are connected by an elegant balustrade.
- Address: Jubilee Park. Stop transport "Solar".
The incredibly elegant structure, rightfully included in the number of iconic sights of Feodosia, bears the name of I. Aivazovsky quite by chance. The great artist at one time donated to the city, which is experiencing an acute shortage of drinking water, Subashskie springs located on the territory of his estate. At the expense of the painter, a pipeline was laid, thanks to which the townspeople could daily collect 50 thousand buckets of pure water in the fountain. An elegant building was erected above the tank with a carved peak that protrudes far beyond the main volume. Thanks to this, the fountain is very reminiscent of a pitched pagoda.
Monument to A. Nikitin
- Address: Genoese fortress. Bus stop "Bridge".
Few people know that the famous Russian pioneer merchant Athanasius Nikitin, who discovered the amazing country of India long before Vasco da Gama, was in Feodosia. Meanwhile, he spent several years in the then Kaffa, and it was here that he wrote his Walks Over Three Seas. The unveiling of the monument to a remarkable person who made a huge contribution to the development of geographical science took place in 2008. The statue of Athanasius Nikitin, made in bronze, is set on a low pedestal. The traveler, dressed in a merchant's caftan, confidently strides towards amazing discoveries.
Fountain "Good genius"
- Address: Korobkov Boulevard. Stop transport "Sunny".
This fountain was erected by a decision of the city authorities in 1890 in gratitude to the Aivazovsky family for transferring Subash sources to public use. It is no accident that the sculpture of the ancient goddess holding an openwork shell in her hands, from which water flowed into a stone bowl, had almost a portrait resemblance to the artist’s wife, Anna Nikitichnaya. In the 30s of the last century, the fountain was dismantled, and the statue was installed in the bowl of the pool of the City Garden. The sculpture was later lost. At the beginning of this century, they decided to restore the construction, for which a new statue was cast in bronze in Nikopol. The grand opening of the revived fountain took place in 2004.
- Schedule: daily, except Wednesday, from 10:00 to 17:00, on Tuesdays from 10:00 to 14:00.
- Ticket price: adult 300 rubles, preferential and children 150 rubles.
- Phone: +7 365 623-00-06.
- Website: http://www.feogallery.org
- Address: st. Gallery, 2. Stop transport "Gallery".
The gallery, founded by I. Aivazovsky himself, dates back to 1845, when the great artist organized in his mansion an exhibition of amazing marinas painted in different years of his life. After 35 years, the gallery moved to a new building, built at the expense of the painter. Today, the institution has 417 canvases by the unsurpassed master of writing seascapes and battles. In addition to paintings, the exhibition presents I. Aivazovsky’s things, furnishings that surrounded him during his lifetime, documents and correspondence from the artist’s personal archive.
Theodosian Museum of Antiquities
- Schedule: daily, except Tuesday, from 10:00 to 17:00.
- Ticket price: adult 150 rubles, children 70 rubles.
- Phone: +7 365 623-09-06.
- Website: http://www.oldmuseum.ru
- Address: Aivazovsky Prospekt 11. Bus stop "Electrical goods store".
One of the oldest museums not only in Crimea, but throughout Russia, it opened its doors to visitors for the first time in 1811. Today in its collection there are more than 70 thousand storage units. In the exhibition halls, magnificent examples of antique ceramics and sculptures, numerous samples of ancient weapons, outfits, and jewelry dating back to the period of Ottoman and Genoese rule are demonstrated. A significant part of the exposition is dedicated to the unique nature, flora and fauna of the peninsula. Of great interest is the excellent collection of minerals and fossils.
A. Green Museum
- Schedule: from Wednesday to Sunday inclusive, from 9:00 to 17:00.
- Ticket price: adult 150 p., Student 75 p., Children under 16 are allowed free of charge.
- Phone: +7 365 623-53-20.
- Website: https://www.feomag.ru
- Address: st. Galeriynaya, 10. Stop of the transport “Electrical goods store”.
Everyone who is familiar with the work of the amazing writer A. Green is worth visiting this wonderful museum. The institution’s expositions tell about five years spent by the chief romantic and mystic of Russian literature in Feodosia. During this time, the Golden Chain, The Road to Nowhere and the famous Running on the Waves came out from under his pen. The wall of the house is decorated with a colorful panel depicting the stern of the brigantine. Exhibition halls are decorated for ship cabins and holds. Once here, you can completely immerse yourself in the colorful atmosphere of the stories of A. Green, included in the golden fund of world literature.
Museum of Money
- Schedule: daily, except Thursday, from 10:00 to 18:00, on Saturdays from 11:00 to 15:00.
- Ticket price: adult 100 p., Children 50 p.
- Phone: +7 365 622-20-44.
- Website: http://www.museum-of-money.org
- Address: st. Kuybysheva, 12. Stop of transport "Electric goods store".
It is simply impossible not to visit a unique institution with a collection of 30 thousand numismatic rarities. Coins from the time of the Bosporus, the Golden Horde, and Kievan Rus are displayed in the windows of the exhibition halls. Some of them were still in circulation in the 7th – 2nd centuries. BC e. The exposition consists of sections devoted to banknotes of a certain historical era. During the tour, you can trace in retrospect the evolution of money from the moment it appeared, right up to the introduction of modern plastic cards.
Church of St. Catherine
- Schedule: daily, from 8:00 to 18:00.
- Phone: +7 365 627-10-58.
- Address: st. Fedko, 95. Bus stop "Bus Station".
The delightful five-domed church, consecrated at the end of the 19th century, is not only a revered religious building, but also the architectural pearl of Theodosius. In the exterior of the building, the traditions of Russian and Byzantine architecture were wonderfully intertwined. The main volume is decorated with tiers of kokoshniks, columns, carving belts, mosaic panels in shallow niches. A stand-alone bell tower with a tent roof crowned with a small dome resembles a boyar tower. It looks like a white stone church with a green roof, blue and gilded domes is simply amazing.
Surb Sarkis Temple
- Schedule: daily, from 9:00 to 18:00.
- Address: st. Armenian, 1. Stop transport "Morsad".
The oldest religious building in Feodosia was erected in the early Middle Ages, around 1330. Since then, the temple has been the center of the spiritual numerous Armenian community of the city. Within its walls, many famous Theosophists, historians, and writers worked. The exterior of the building is ascetic and simple. Perhaps the only decoration of the facade are cross stones, carved from marble or limestone. However, no city tour can be imagined without visiting Surb Sarkis. At the western wall of the temple in the crypt lies the remains of I. Aivazovsky and his wife, whose memory comes from the townspeople and tourists.
Mufti Jami Mosque
- Schedule: daily, from 8:00 to 17:00.
- Address: st. Karaite, 1. Bus stop “Chekhov Street” or “Krasnoarmeyskaya Street”.
The history of the only religious building in the city, built by medieval Turkish architects in the Ottoman period and preserved to this day, is very interesting. It was erected according to traditional canons for 7 years. The construction of a cubic mosque covered with a 12-sided dome and a slender 8-sided minaret was completed in 1630. After the peninsula was annexed to the Russian Empire, the building was transferred to the Armenian church, and the Sunni community was returned only in 1998. Now the temple, which has survived several restorations, is in good condition.
- Schedule: submissions are given daily, except Monday, and begin at 12:00 and 15:00.
- Ticket price: 800 r.
- Phone: +7 365 622-28-88.
- Website: http://www.nemofeodosia.com
- Address: 9A Kerch highway. Bus stop "Golden Beach".
Nothing gives a child so much joy as communication with animals. The most attractive of them are considered dolphins. It is no coincidence that performances with the participation of extremely smart and incredibly graceful bottlenose dolphins constantly collect full houses. In addition to watching a colorful show filled with enchanting surprises, visitors can swim in the pool with artists and take a memorable photo next to a happy dolphin. Those who wish can take a dolphin therapy course at the institution. The procedure is indicated for children with slow physical and mental development.
Paintball Club Barracuda
- Phone to order the game: +7 978 067-07-83.
- Network coordinates: https://vk.com/barrakuda_paintball
- The cost of the game: from 200 rubles.
- Visitors reviews: https://vk.com/topic-66591519_39088067
Do not think that rest in Crimea is just relaxation on the beach and sightseeing. Theodosius, for example, boasts a first-class paintball club Barrakuda. It is equipped with the best, perhaps, on the peninsula playground for exciting battles in which teenagers can participate with their parents. Club guests are offered many exciting battle scenarios in various locations: on a residential quarter street, in the rooms and labyrinths of the corridors of a three-story building, on rough terrain, in the forest. The most exciting moments of the missions will be captured on a photo or video camera by a professional operator. It offers visitors who come in a large company, a grill and a platform with 50 seats for a bivouac. By the way, Barrakuda holds paintball safaris not only in Feodosia, but also in the village of Krasnokamenka, not far from Sudak.
Museum of Fish and Fisheries
- Schedule: daily, from 9:00 to 18:00.
- Ticket price: adult 200 rubles, children's 100 rubles.
- Phone: +7 978 882 82-89.
- Address: st. Gorky, 32/1. Stop transport "Morsad".
Not one teenager who came with his parents to relax in Feodosia will not refuse to visit this interesting place. Still would! In the exhibition halls of the institution are shown more than 5 thousand exhibits telling about the history of fishing since ancient times. Among them you will see fishing gear of the antiquity and the Middle Ages, numismatics and ceramics with the image of fish. In addition, visitors will be shown a collection of skeletons of the prehistoric inhabitants of the deep sea. A part of the exposition consists of curiosities related to fishing topics brought from Japan, Germany, Peru, Norway and several dozens of other countries of the world.
- Schedule: daily in the summer, in winter, except Mondays, from 8:00 to 16:00.
- Ticket price: adult from 200 to 600 rubles, children from 100 to 500 rubles.
- Phone: +7 365 622-62-87.
- Website: http://www.karadag.com.ru
- Address: village Kurortnoe, st. Nauki 24. It is better to get by shuttle bus or bus from the bus station of Feodosia.
A wonderful adventure that will please all family members will be an excursion to the Kara-Dag nature reserve, located 33 km from Feodosia. The volcanic massif, formed by a powerful eruption about 150 million years ago, covers an area of about 2.9 ha. A unique ecosystem has formed here, which the reserve employees manage to maintain. 79 species of plants grow in Kara-Dag, including those listed in the Red Book. The animal world is represented by 125 species of animals and birds. The rock formations of a bizarre form - “Devil's Maw”, “Ivan the Robber”, “Dragon” - are considered to be original symbols of the reserve. The tour involves passing along one of the eco-routes. Also, visitors will be able to see the expositions of the Museum of History and Nature of Kara-Dag.
Theodosius will surprise with the abundance and color of the sights of the most experienced traveler. The city can be considered an ideal vacation destination for tourists seeking to combine a beach holiday with a rich cultural program.
6. Alexander Green Museum
The memorial museum dedicated to the writer A. Green - the creator of the story "Scarlet Sails" and other equally interesting works. It is located in the building of 1891, in which A. Green lived from 1924 to 1929. The side wall of the mansion is decorated with a relief panel “Brigantine”. The exposition consists of household items and interior belongings to the writer. The museum regularly hosts exhibitions, creative evenings and meetings with writers, artists, musicians.
7. Museum of Marina and Anastasia Tsvetaeva
The museum’s collection is dedicated to the Crimean period of the Tsvetaev’s sisters. It is composed of exhibits provided by the M.A. Voloshin House-Museum, Theodosia Museum of Local Lore, and the Art Gallery named after Aivazovsky. Many items in the collection were acquired in private collections. In the house where the exposition was located, A. Tsvetaeva lived in 1913-14. Her sister Marina often visited here.
8. Museum of the sculptor Vera Mukhina
Vera Mukhina became famous all over the world thanks to her 25-meter monumental sculpture "Worker and Collective Farm Girl", created especially for the 1937 World Exhibition in Paris. The museum dedicated to the sculptor was opened in 1985 on the very spot where the house of the Vera Ignatievna family was located. The exposition reproduces fragments of the room of V. Mukhina and her creative workshop.
9. Theodosia Museum of Local Lore
In 1811, the Theodosian Museum of Antiquities was opened (subsequently renamed the Museum of Local Lore). At first, it simply served as a repository of artifacts. In 1871, a separate building was built for I.K. Aivazovsky's funds for an impressive overgrown collection. In the XX century, the exposition moved two more times, until it settled in the mansion of the XIX-XX centuries, where it is still located.
10. Theodosian Museum of Money
Ever since ancient times, coins were minted on the territory of Feodosia. The ancient Greeks, Genoese and Crimean Tatars had their money. At the beginning of the 19th century, the first numismatic exposition was created within the framework of the Theodosian Museum of Antiquities. The modern money museum was founded in 2003 at the initiative of O. A. Romanovich, a local collector. At the moment, about 30 thousand coins are stored in his funds, the oldest of which date back to the 7th century BC. e.
11. Surb Sarkis Church
The Armenian temple of 1330, which in the XIV-XVI centuries served as the spiritual cultural and educational center of the Armenian diaspora. Prominent thinkers and artists of that time worked here - Baberdetsi, Avetis, Kristosatur, Simeon and others. Valuable manuscripts created in this church are kept in Paris, Jerusalem and Vienna. Near the temple there is a cemetery where I.K. Aivazovsky is buried.
12. The grave of I. K. Aivazovsky
An outstanding marine painter was buried in the courtyard of the Armenian church of Surb Sarkis in a place of honor for his particularly valuable contribution to the cultural development of Feodosia and the whole Crimea. At the beginning of the 20th century, by order of the artist’s widow, a marble tombstone made by the Italian sculptor Biojoli was erected on his grave. In 1944, she herself was buried next to the artist.
13. Temple of the Iveron Icon of the Mother of God
The first mention of the temple dates back to the 14th century, although it is believed that it existed long before this time. Before the Ottoman Turks arrived in Crimea, the temple was the Armenian Church of St. John the Baptist. At the end of the 19th century, it was again consecrated in honor of the Iveron Icon of the Mother of God. Recent restoration work was carried out here in 1996. At the moment, the church is operational.
15. Church of St. George
In the XIV century, the temple was the Catholicon (main church) of the Armenian Catholic monastery of the Holy Great Martyr George the Victorious. In those days, numerous pilgrims went to the Holy Land from here. In the 19th century, the church was rebuilt, as a result of which an octagonal dome tower typical of Russian temple architecture appeared.
17. Sailor's park
The park is located on the spot where during the early Ottoman Empire there was a large slave bazaar. On the market they sold slaves stolen by Tatars from Southern Russia and Eastern Europe. The square was destroyed in memory of the sailors who died during the defense of Theodosius during the Great Patriotic War. The territory of the park is decorated with wooden sculptures created from old trunks.
19. Fountain "Good Genius"
The 2004 Memorial Fountain, erected in honor of I.K. Aivazovsky. The first monument was created by grateful citizens in 1890 in honor of the day when the artist gave Feodosia a donation of 50 thousand buckets of water per day from Subash sources that belonged to his wife. During the Great Patriotic War, the monument mysteriously disappeared. A new monument was built half a century later with municipal funds.
20. Theodosian Dolphinarium "Nemo"
The dolphinarium opened in 2012 and has since become a popular city attraction. It is a complete entertainment center for the whole family. Here you can visit entertaining shows with dolphins and sea lions, swim with these amazing animals, take pictures and get a positive charge for many days to come.
21. The first city beach
Sandy beach in the central part of the city, stretching for 300-350 meters along the seashore. Its width ranges from 40 to 50 meters. Due to the convenient descent into the sea, as well as a shallow and shallow bottom, the beach is very popular among tourists with children. All the necessary infrastructure for a comfortable stay has been created here. On the beach you can swim in the spring, as the water here warms up quickly enough.
22. Beach "Pebbles"
The beach is about 1 km long, located in the central part of Feodosia. It consists of a mixture of small pebbles and sand and has a gentle entrance to the sea. On the beach there is an entertainment complex with attractions, water transport rental, cafes and numerous souvenir tents. In the high season, the beach is visited by a fairly large number of tourists, so it is crowded here.
23. Golden Beach
Well-groomed sandy beach, located in one of the best resort areas of the urban district of Feodosia. The place has a great location, great climate and warm water. It offers scenic views of the bay. The beach is equipped with parking and sports fields. Most of its territory belongs to the tourist complex of the same name.
24. Beach club 117
A popular holiday destination located on 117 km of the Simferopol-Kerch highway. The Beachclub 117 complex includes a beach, a nightclub, a day bar and a restaurant. Music festivals and celebrations are constantly held here, to which famous DJs are invited. In the daytime, visitors can enjoy water sports, sunbathe or play volleyball, at night - dance to good music.
A bit about the city
A convenient location for settlement was chosen in the VI century. BC. Greeks, colonists from Miletus. They gave the city a name - "Bestowed by god".
Over the millennia of its history, the city has been a part of different states, changing not only citizenship, but also its name. The Alans renamed it Ardabda (the city of seven gods). In the XIII century. Genoese bought the city from the Golden Horde and gave the name Kaffa. In the XV century. Turks captured the city, which they began to call Kefe. A rich, densely populated city during the Ottoman rule was called Kucuk-Istanbul (little Istanbul) or Crimea-Istanbul, marking it significance and influence.
In the XVIII century. after the Russo-Turkish war, Crimea became part of the Russian Empire and the name given to the Greeks was returned to the city. Having survived periods of decline and prosperity, modern Feodosia is a large port of the Russian Federation, actively developing the resort industry. The population of the city as of January 1, 2017 was 67,993 people.
In Feodosia there are many places worth visiting. If you do not know what to see in this city, the information below is for you. We have collected the most interesting sights with photos, descriptions, prices and addresses.
Parks and squares
The promenade is called one of the main attractions of the citybut the reviews of tourists are mixed. They also note the opportunity to admire the sea, buy souvenirs, relax, dream, and some disorder.
Walking through the streets of the city will inevitably lead to the park. One of the central ones, Gorky Street, is surrounded by Anniversary park. Walking on it will bring not only aesthetic pleasure. You can see the remains of the Genoese fortifications - the tower of St. Konstantin.
The park is located light and music fountain of Aivazovsky - A favorite place for citizens and tourists. Also associated with the name of the great artist is the fountain of Good Genius, which was put by the residents of the city in gratitude for their help in providing the city with fresh water.
Theodosius has the honorary title of the city of military glory, the memory of this is kept eternal flame and memorial complex of heroes of World War II. On the same street you can walk along the plane-tree Alley of heroes. It is dedicated to sailors who defended the city during the Crimean and World War II.
The largest park is Komsomolsky in the northern part of the city. There is a children's town, attractions in it. It is ideal for walking with children of all ages.
Not far from the park and the historical part of the city is Morsad or Sailor's Garden. It has a playground, a small field for playing football, and the park is decorated with wooden sculptures.
Small the square between Zemskaya street and Aivazovsky Avenue is named after A.S. Pushkin, which was in the city passing through. The square also has a playground for children’s games, so it’s nice to spend time there and take a break from the heat.
Artifacts and antiquities
Fragments of walls and several towers (St. Konstantin, Kruglya, Dokovaya, Thomas) have been preserved Genoese fortress built in the XIV in near Feodosia. Once the fortress was one of the largest in Europe, they began to disassemble it in the 18th century, in the 20th century. she was significantly affected by the war of the Great Patriotic War.
From the ruins of the Genoese fortress along a narrow path you can walk to the western tip of the bay. Extreme point - cape of St. Elijah.
Since 1899, a lighthouse has been installed there, the light of which is important for navigation. You cannot go inside the lighthouse, but you can wander around the surroundings.
The museum space of Feodosia is unique and amazing. It can captivate not only random sightseers, but also people who are seriously interested in archeology, history, art.
National Art Gallery named after I.K. Aivazovsky
Two buildings - architectural monuments of the XIX century. present a unique exposure. In the gallery collection 13 thousand items. Among them are paintings, graphics, photographs and documents. Since the exhibition is located in the mansion of I.K. Aivazovsky and his sister's house, the collection is dedicated to the artist and his students. Marina of the masters of the XVII – XIX centuries. and contemporary artists complement the collection of gallery funds. Amazing canvases will not leave anyone indifferent.
St. Gallery, 2. The museum is open daily from 10:00 to 20:00, on Tuesday from 10:00 to 19:00. The cash desk closes one hour before closing. The day off is Wednesday.
Museum of Antiquities (local history)
Exposure shows natural features of Southeast Crimea, ethnic diversity of the territory, bright events of the history of the city. Archaeological finds made during excavations in Kerch, Taman, Sudak and other places are interesting.
Prospect Aivazovsky, house. eleven. The museum is open to visitors daily, except Tuesday, from 10:00 to 17:00. The ticket price for adults is 150 rubles, for children - 70 rubles, an additional 60 rubles is charged for shooting in the halls.
Alexander Green Museum of Literature and Memorial
Alexander Green was very fond of Theodosius. Here he was several years, wrote his famous novels and short stories. In the old mansion where the writer lived from 1924 to 1929, a literary and memorial museum now works. Exhibition halls are stylized as ship interiors, models of sailing ships, maps, navigation devices are presented. Children over 5 years old can participate in the quest “To the shores of Greenland”.
St. Gallery, 10. The museum exposition is open for visitors from 9:00 to 17:00 daily, except Monday, a break from 13:00 to 14:00. A ticket for adults costs 150 rubles, for schoolchildren or students - 60 rubles, benefits are provided for senior citizens.
National Museum of the sculptor V.I. Mukhina
Vera Ignatyevna Mukhina spent her childhood and youth in Feodosia. On the site of her family’s house, a museum complex was organized, where fragments represent the creative workshop of the great sculptor. The exposition includes drawings, sketches, sketches and works of the master.
St. Fedko, 1. The museum is open from 10:00 to 17:00. A visit for adults costs 100 rubles, for children - 50 rubles.
Museum of Hang Gliding (Museum of Free Flight)
Museum - one of a kind. In his exposition, existing models of gliders, hang gliders, unique photographs and documents telling about the history of domestic aviation. And here you can experience the joy of flying on a special simulator.
St. Kuibyshev, 12. The museum is open from 11:00 to 18:00, a break from 13:00 to 14:00, Monday, Tuesday - days off. A visit costs 150 rubles for adults, 50 rubles for schoolchildren and students.
Museum "Fish and Fisheries"
A unique museum in Russia. It has been working since 2015, and in 2016 it has already taken second place in the ranking of attractions of Crimea. The exhibition features more than 5,000 items from 56 countries, from almost all continents. The history of fishing from ancient times to the present day, coins, products from crystal and porcelain with the image of fish, bones of extinct or rare animals.
St. Gorky, 32. The museum receives visitors daily from 10:00 to 19:00. Ticket price: 100-200 rubles.
If you get tired of admiring the sea and the sun, you can see the stars in the afternoon, find out secrets of space and the universe. Informative lectures, quizzes, travels in the solar system.
Paintball Club Barrakuda
Lovers of outdoor activities are welcome to visit the Barrakuda paintball club. You are waiting for exciting, driving scenarios, a sea of positive emotions, as well as photography throughout the game. Games are held at one of the most interesting venues in the Crimea.
If your child has a birthday soon or you think how to celebrate a corporate party, a game of paintball is what you need.
The games are held in the village of Blizhne in Feodosia, as well as in the village of Krasnokamenka, which is not far from Sudak.
Temples and mosques
Christianity was brought to Theodosius by the Apostle Andrew in the 1st century. AD but the major port was a multinational and multi-faith city. in the Middle Ages and New Time, there were quarters where Catholics and Orthodox lived: Greeks, Armenians, Russians, Muslims (Tatars). All of them had houses of worship - temples, churches, mosques. Some of them have survived and are still in effect.
The oldest temple, the construction of which historians date back to the 7th – 9th centuries, Church of the Introduction to the Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Over the thousand-year history, the church was rebuilt several times, experienced a period of decline during the years of Soviet power. Since 1993, restored as a working temple.
One of the oldest, built in the XIV century., - Church of the Iveron Icon of the Mother of God. Located near the Genoese fortress in the Temple Valley. There is a legend that in it Afanasy Nikitin prayed for returning home after a trip, and it was in the Cafe that he wrote “Walking for Three Seas”.
Not far from the Iverskaya Church is located Church of St. George the Victorious - the construction remaining after the destroyed monastery of the XIV century. The temple is under reconstruction.
Also to the XIV century. applies St. Sergius Church - Surb Sarkis (active Armenian temple). Located near the Morsad Park. Since 2016, the temple daily, at 16:00 and 18:00, concerts of organ music.
In the XV century. were built Armenian Catholic Church of the Archangels Michael and Gabriel and on the territory of the fortress is the church of St. Demetrius (Stephen). There is a version that the paintings in the church in the name of St. Demetrius were made by Theophanes the Greek. A part of the frescoes has been preserved and still admires the manner of writing.
Built in the XIX century. Church of All Saints survived the revolution and war, the fight against atheism, but was destroyed in 1961. It was restored from photographs from 1992 to 2005. Now there is a school, museum, and children's theater under the existing church.
At the end of the XIX, but in the style of the XVII century, was built Church of St. Catherine. Like other temples, in the Soviet period it was subject to destruction and desolation. Services were restored in 1941, in 2002, a major overhaul began. Now it is a whole complex of different objects - Sunday school, library, hotel for pilgrims.
At the beginning of the twentieth century. was built and consecrated Cathedral of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God at the courtyard of the Holy Paraskive Monastery. The monastery and temples were severely damaged in the early years of Soviet power, and lost their main shrines. Since 1943, service in the church was restored, in the 1950s its decoration was significantly updated.
Mufti Jami Mosque. Built in the XVII century. At the moment, the only structure left from the Ottoman Empire. Having survived the change of appearance, decoration, ministry (it was a temple for Muslims, then Christians), the period of desolation, the mosque was restored and restored.
Holidays in Feodosia will allow you to experience the pleasure of the soft sand of the beach, not tiring the heat and the turquoise sea. And at the same time, the city is full of interesting places, provides the opportunity for educational excursions and hiking in the picturesque surroundings.
Watch a video about the most interesting places in the city:
23. Beach "Pebbles"
A kilometer-long beach line with a gentle entrance to the sea and a mixture of sand and tiny pebbles. There are a lot of souvenir shops, cafes, rental points, an entertainment center and attractions on Kameshka Square. The only relative drawback can be considered only a large number of vacationers in the tourist season.